UK SEO and Internet Marketing Forums
Google Alerts

January 08, 2009, 05:24:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Del.icio.us Digg FURL FaceBook Stumble Upon Reddit SlashDot

Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Google Alerts  (Read 491 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
yommys01
Sergeant
*****

Karma: +2/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: August 19, 2008, 01:56:13 PM »

I am believing the alerts is meant for link building but I am still unable to understand how it works.
Logged
Matt Inertia
Global Moderator
Major
*****

Karma: +12/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 738


S.E.Oooooh Yeah!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: August 19, 2008, 03:32:11 PM »

Theyre meant to alert you to blog updates, news articles and general activity relating to whatever search term you ask it to watch. The reality is that most of the links from Google alerts come from nofollow blog and article comments so for they wont build page rank but what they will do is get you traffic and increase your online presence. Which should lead to natural links!
Do you agree dave?
Logged

ctabuk
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8631



View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: August 19, 2008, 03:41:50 PM »

Yes Matt - when I see a strong result for one of my URL's I sphinn, stumble etc etc the results pages and that generates traffic and lifts internal pagerank. I'm getting some really weird search results.  But a sale is a sale and the ones for my book are really generating sales and lifted the book into the top 20 of my publishers entire booksales.

Only today I got this result on Yahoo - the blogs mine as well - so I am outstripping Amazon at its own game.
New Historical Fiction Books: Just another WordPress weblog
Historical Documents from the 1800's. Kitty McKenzie Books by Anne Whitfield ... Historic Fiction Books - for Authors ... ©2008 New Historical Fiction Books ...
www.newhistoricalfictionbooks.co.uk - Cached
Historical Fiction Books At Transworld
... one of the biggest selling book publishers in the UK. ... View a complete list of our Historical Fiction publishing programme arranged by. book title, ...
www.booksattransworld.co.uk/fiction/historical.htm - Cached
New Historical Fiction Books
New Historical Fiction Book Writers Group. A sister website for this blog ... A Forum For Historical Fiction writers. New UK Book Blogs. http:// The Black Box ...
newhistoricalfictionbooks.blogspot.com - 52k - Cached
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 03:45:26 PM by ctabuk » Logged

edward1
Sergeant
*****

Karma: +6/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 107



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2008, 05:27:18 PM »



why would u pay to sign up for this website>? http://www. googlealert.com/


if they have no affiliation from google, where do they get their info from?
Logged

daniboy
Administrator
Colonel
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1514



View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2008, 05:44:23 PM »



why would u pay to sign up for this website>? http://www. googlealert.com/


if they have no affiliation from google, where do they get their info from?

Maybe a bulk or wholesale account with Google? Some sort of sytem linked to ping services and using an api to scrape serps efficiently. Or just one account which they're setting up thousands of alerts for, re-routing alert emails? Or any sort of combination.

Either way the site is 5.5 years old, David uses it and is run by the same company who run www.copyscape.com so must be legit.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2008, 05:48:37 PM by daniboy » Logged

Discount Shopping UK for Voucher Codes and eVouchers
Some new sites not finished Sad www.tv-aerials.org.uk & www.bestgiftexperiences.co.uk
ctabuk
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8631



View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2008, 08:40:36 AM »

What are you talking about Edward? - Woolworth's!! - I pay google and my credit card shows the payee as Google Inc Mountain View
Logged

daniboy
Administrator
Colonel
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1514



View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: September 04, 2008, 08:46:57 AM »

David, I think it's this bit from the site that Edward is talking about

2008 Indigo Stream Technologies, providers of Copyscape.
Terms of use. Google Alert is not affiliated with Google.
Logged

Discount Shopping UK for Voucher Codes and eVouchers
Some new sites not finished Sad www.tv-aerials.org.uk & www.bestgiftexperiences.co.uk
ctabuk
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8631



View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: September 04, 2008, 08:55:28 AM »

http://www.google.com/alerts

That's all I have to say on the matter
Logged

daniboy
Administrator
Colonel
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1514



View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: September 04, 2008, 12:29:33 PM »

http://www.google.com/alerts

That's all I have to say on the matter

Now you're confusing me David.

The quote from above is from the site you say for Google Alerts.

Yup it's called Premium Google Alerts - $30 a quarter or half yearly - I don't really check it, it's hooked into my paypal account.  I figured that if I'm contributing to the Google cause I'd get some kick back Grin Grin Grin

http://www.googlealert.com/features.php

They're two different services by two different companies. Check the whois etc... and the fact that Googlealert.com say they're not anything to do with Google.
Logged

Discount Shopping UK for Voucher Codes and eVouchers
Some new sites not finished Sad www.tv-aerials.org.uk & www.bestgiftexperiences.co.uk
ctabuk
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8631



View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: September 04, 2008, 12:43:35 PM »

My credit card say's Google Inc and the premium account came to me via Google - I am allowed 100 times more searches than the free version and all of my alerts are direct from Google.com

Here, this came in just now
 This once a day Google Alert is brought to you by Google.

Remove this alert.
Create another alert.
Manage your alerts.

Here is the actual e-mail address

"Google Alerts" <googlealerts-noreply@google.com>  Now no one can copy a google.com e-mail address
« Last Edit: September 04, 2008, 12:48:37 PM by ctabuk » Logged

daniboy
Administrator
Colonel
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1514



View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: September 04, 2008, 12:46:45 PM »

But which one are you using?

You've given two different urls from two different companies...

Unless Indigo Stream Technologies are a subsiduary of Google Inc, but it still confuses things with this statement on their site > Google Alert is not affiliated with Google. Together with the fact that with http://www.google.com/alerts there is no premium option and your paypal says Google Inc Mountain View.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2008, 12:50:17 PM by daniboy » Logged

Discount Shopping UK for Voucher Codes and eVouchers
Some new sites not finished Sad www.tv-aerials.org.uk & www.bestgiftexperiences.co.uk
ctabuk
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8631



View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: September 04, 2008, 12:55:11 PM »

This is fucking annoying - someone said that there was no such thing as a premium account - well there is and searched it. I pay Google and only use Google - I am reporting that site via Matt Cutts - my apologies for posting it - I just went to it and naturally I could not log in - because I do not use it.  Sorry.
Logged

ctabuk
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8631



View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: September 04, 2008, 01:00:01 PM »

Thank you for submitting this information. Your report has been received and will be investigated.

We appreciate your diligence in reporting this problem; you’re helping produce a better online experience for everyone.

The Google Team
Logged

daniboy
Administrator
Colonel
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1514



View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: September 04, 2008, 01:00:35 PM »

That explains it all. I'm with you now  Wink Sorry to have annoyed you, I was just going by what was posted and in no way trying to be pedantic.

That site is owned by the same company as copyscape so must be legit? They're in Gibraltar...

I've just looked through the Google alerts (real ones) and can't find the premium stuff. Which is annoying for me; I had a few using the feeds as a test on crash and burn sites.
Logged

Discount Shopping UK for Voucher Codes and eVouchers
Some new sites not finished Sad www.tv-aerials.org.uk & www.bestgiftexperiences.co.uk
ctabuk
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +18/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8631



View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: September 04, 2008, 01:06:59 PM »

I was not annoyed with you - I was annoyed with myself. For one minute there I thought I was being ripped off. Embarrassed

I will go and find a receipt and look for the link.
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!


Google visited last this page December 06, 2008, 01:48:11 AM